Let’s talk about happiness!

We all go through what sometimes appears to be more than our fair share of struggles and challenges. I’ve been there, and in many ways, I am still there. However, the difference between the past-me and the current-me is that not only am I not depressed anymore, but I’m a genuinely happy person who experiences sadness every now and then just like any other normal human being.

I’ve been reflecting on the gratitude that I feel towards this change in my attitude for and I thought there is no better way to express my utter appreciation but to share what I truly believe to be the chief contributors to my happiness with you. I truly hope that this will be of value to you and help you sell that beautiful smile of yours more often 🙂

So what is this happiness that everyone seeks? And since it’s so dang popular, how do you get your hands on it?

Happiness is a subjective term, but no matter what it is that lifts the corners of your lips, there are a few general guidelines that Happiness tends to follow.

1. Make your peace with the imperfect reality.

In our search for happiness, a lot of us take off on the wrong path to begin with. We see happiness in the absence of problems, an unrealistic desire that is not nearly as fulfilling as we perceive it to be.

Once you come to terms with the fact that things do go wrong every now and then, the coping and recovering process will come to you with more ease, allowing to learn from your struggles and helping you to get back up on you feet.

2. Hope. Hope. Hope.

Happiness is not the absence of struggle. It is the presence of hope.

Optimism is perhaps the most promising source of happiness and the way to achieve it is through trusting yourself. Once you know your worth and recognize your capabilities, you will gain faith in the path that you’re taking and the success that will follow your hard work. I will definitely dive deeper into this topic later, but for now, I shall give you the number 1 advice that has helped me (even though you’ve probably heard it before), fake it until you make it. It’s not going to happen overnight. You might not even realize the changes as they’re happening, but trust me, one day you’re suddenly going to see how far you’ve come and how much you’ve grown. Once you get there, you will approach everything that comes your way with such optimism that the challenges and the struggles won’t defeat you anymore but they will be minor bumps in the road to make your journey a bit more exciting and unpredictable.

3. Personal Development

Man, I cannot tell you how much I love this one. Personal development is a huge asset on soooo many levels. It will make you a more knowledgeable and interesting person. It will boost your confidence. It will help you out in social situations. The list of the benefits is endless.

Many find personal development to be intimidating and something that only those who are super disciplined can achieve. Well, I’m here to tell you that is not the case!

First of all, self-discipline is not something that you’re just born with. Heck, it can be your personal development goal! Your discipline will grow as you persistently pursue your goals.

Second of all, personal development doesn’t have to be complicated. It can be adopting a morning routine, reading more often, learning a new language, taking more walks, listening to more podcasts or anything else that you want it to be.

Happiness comes with the feeling of satisfaction that accompanies growth and accomplishment. To tell you the truth, it’s quite addicting and it will always leave you longing for more and thus working harder for more.

It’s all about the mindset!

Once you learn to change your definition of happiness to a realistic and attainable one, make hope the essence of all of your actions, and put all of your energy into your growth, happiness won’t stop knocking at your door. Sadness will become an occasional guest who will make you stronger and more ready to conquer new realms of happiness!

 

I will end today’s entry with some of my favorite quotes about happiness. I hope they’ll inspire you as much as they inspire me! Smile on, beloved readers ❤️️

Folks are usually as happy as they make their minds up to be.

– Abraham Lincoln

You will never be happy if you continue to search for what happiness consists of. You will never live if you are looking for the meaning of life.

– Albert Camus

Today I choose life. Every morning when I wake up I can choose joy, happiness, negativity, pain… To feel the freedom that comes from being able to continue to make mistakes and choices – today I choose to feel life, not to deny my humanity but embrace it.

– Kevyn Aucoin

We must accept finite disappointment but must never lose infinite hope.

– Martin Luther King Jr.

Leave a Reply

